Achtung! / Attention!

Diese Webseiten sind technisch und zum Teil auch inhaltlich veraltet; sie werden nicht mehr aktiv gepflegt. Ihr Inhalt wurde weitgehend in das aktuelle Webangebot GenWiki überführt, diese Migration konnte aber noch nicht abgeschlossen werden.

These pages are outdated, they aren't administered any longer. Most content was migrated to GenWiki, but the process isn't finished yet.

[ Genealogy Home] [What's New] [General Help] [Regional Research Home]
[Oberpfalz Home]

The History of the Earldom of Oberpfalz ( Upper Pfalz )

Diese Seite ist auch auf Deutsch verfügbar.
Kaiser Friedrich Barbarossa enfeoffs the Dukedom Bavaria in favour of Otto I , a Wittelsbacher.
Rheinpfalz becomes part of Bavaria
Regensburg , one of the most important German trade cities, becomes an indepentent city of the Reich.
As a result of the first partitioning of Bavaria, Oberbayern ( Upper Bavaria) which nowadays extends with a considerable part of it into the territory of Ober- pfalz and Rheinpfalz goes to Ludwig der Strenge ( Ludwig the Severe ), while Niederbayern ( Lowe Bavaria) goes to Heinrich VIII ( Heinrich the 8th ).
Innitially part of the territory of the Bavarian Nordmarch and afterwards of the Bavarian Marchearldom of Nordgau the territory is pawned to the Dukes of Bavaria.
As a sign of gratitude for having helped him at war to obtain the Kaiser´s throne, Kaiser Ludwig der Bayer pawns the Egerland to the Bohemian King, John of Luxemburg.
By the contract of Pavia , Kaiser Ludwig of Bavaria conferres a large part of the territory of Oberpfalz ( Nordgau ) and the Rheinpfalz ( also named Kurpfalz ) with its capital Heidelberg to the sons of his brother Rudolf . Unlike the Pfalz on the Rhein the Bavarian part of the territory with ist capital Amberg and the seat of the electors´ governors was called " the Land of the Pfalz in Bavaria" or " our Pfalz of Amberg " . In 1513 the name " Obere Pfalz " ( Upper-Pfalz ) was first mentioned in documents.
Karl V who had succeeded Ludwig the Bavarian ( Ludwig der Bayer ) as King of the Germans and western Kaiser acquires parts of Nordgau and turns Sulzbach into the capital of Neuböhmen ( New Bohemia )
Somewhat reduced in size, the territory nowadays called Pfalz goes to the son of King Ruprecht von der Pfalz.
The territorry becomes part of Pfalz-Mosbach and for a short time it is partially included into Pfalz-Simmern.
The territory joins the main frontier of the Pfalz
During the 30-Years-War the Oberpfalz territory is turned into the main battlefield and is severely being affected by the war. Lots of cities and villages are burnt to the ground, some of them even repeatedly. Out of more than a hundred smith-hammers only about are still operating. The population is being severely decimated.
The territory of Bavaria which had undergone conversion to the Lutheran confession is being occupied again, while in it becomes catholic again.
The Sovereign of Bavaria , Prince Elector Max of Bavaria, puts an end to the domination of the Kurpfalz over Bavaria. This domination had lasted for three hundred years. The Oberpfalz becomes Bavarian territory again.
Bohemian territory is being put in pledge for Bavaria. Being part of the Bavarian Reich-district, the Oberpfalz consists of two divided main parts amidst which the principality of Sulzbach, Amt Vilseck of Bamberg, the Earldoms of Sternstein and Leuchtenberg are located.The Law-Courts of Amberg, Pfaffenhofen, Haimburg, Rieden, Freudenberg, Hirschau, Nabburg, Neuburg vor dem Wald, Wetterfeld, Bruck, Retz, Waldmünchen, Murach and Treswitz-Tenesberg are part of the southern main territory., while the Law Courts of Bernau, Eschenbach, Grafenwöhr, Holnberg, Kirchentumbach, Auerbach and Hartenstein, the cast office of Kemnat and the county Law Courts of Waldeck and the regency of Rothenberg belong to the northern territory. Some smaller regions are part of the territory of Nürenberg.
Regensburg becomes the residence of the all.prevailing Reichstag of the Holy Roman Reich of the German Nation ( Heiliges Römisches Reich Deutscher Nation ), which it will keep until 1806.
Sulzbach which had been cut off in 1614 is now again being included into the territory of the Oberpfalz.
During the Spanish war of Succession ( 1701-1714 ) the peasants of the Oberpfalz vainly rise against being drafted into the army of their Austrian occupants.
During the Austrian war of Succession the Oberpfalz is being devasted by Maria Theresia´s ( Austrian Kaiser ) hordes of Pandures who are lead in battle by Franz von der Trenck.
The Sovereigns of Thurn und Taxis become principal commissaries at the Reichstag, i.e. viceroys of the Kaiser.
In the course of secularization the Bavarian State takes possession of all monasteries and cloisters of Regensburg. Regensburg is the last ecclesiastical principality to be taken over and it goes to the principality primate Carl Theodor von Dalberg.
Amt Vilseck in the district of Bamberg and Waldsassen Monastery becomes part of Bavaria. 1n 1806 Sternstein joins the Bavarian territory and in 1816 Amt Marktredwitz becomes part of Bavaria.
These different territories are all united in what we call "New Bavaria" During this process referred to as mediatization Bavaria becomes a Kingdom.
Bavaria is the first European State to abolish bondage. The first constitutional law ( constitution ) is being passed.
After having been disbanded, the ecclesiastical principality of Regensburg joins Bavaria and the city of Regensburg succceeds Amberg as the capital of the county of Regen.
In rough outlines, the Oberpfalz is given the shape of what it is like nowadays and the name of " Oberpfalz ", as well..
The first railroad is opened in the Oberpfalz.
During the war between Germany and France , Bavaria joins the German Reich.
Bavaria loses ist sovereignity in favour of the German Reich.
Bavaria becomes a zone of US military occupation. The territory of the Pfalz, on the left banks of the Rhine, is being separated from Bavaria. Many expellees , including residents of the Sudetenland, find a new homeland in the Oberpfalz.
By democratic vote, the Bavarian population consents to the new Bavarian constitution. In the course of the territorial reform, the Oberpfalz is subject to thorough changes. The number of 19 rural districts , meanwhile reduced to seven parts of Niederbayern ( Lower Bavaria ), including Kötzting and Lam, now become part of the rural district of Cham in the Oberpfalz ( Upper Pfalz ). The lower Altmühltal, including Riedenburg, is incorporated into the district of Kehlheim. Beilngries joins Oberbayern ( Upper Bavaria).

[Zum Anfang des Dokuments
Stand: 20-Okt-00 (FZ)

Kommentare und Ergänzungen bitte per email an Franz Ziegler: